I LOVE This!! The Urban Homestead.

I stumbled upon the Dervaes family and their “Urban Homestead” on-line a couple of years ago. I was captivated. And the thing that made it extra special, is that their homestead is located in Pasadena, CA and I was on my way down there to visit my mom, who lives in San Marino, which is right next to Pasadena. How could I resist?

I called to see if they allowed people to tour their garden, but unfortunately, they’d stopped doing that as they’d had too many different groups coming in and disrupting their life.

I get it. Growing, raising and preparing your own food is a lot of work, and they sell quite a lot of their produce to local restaurants to earn money to support themselves.

So although I wasn’t able to get a tour, I did set up an appt. to go buy a copy of their video (which is a longer version of what I’m posting here). When I drove up to the house, I was blown away. Their garden was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Charming… Enchanting. I don’t know what-else to say, except that upon closer inspection, you realized that eveything you were looking at was edible! I’m serious. I’ve never seen a yard like this before or since. And it was smack dab in the middle of a residential block, next to an elementary school.

I lingered on the porch while paying for the video and took in as much as I could without being a weirdo. (?) Well, maybe I was one… I certainly was enchanted. I wanted so badly to go into their backyard and see the garden, and meet their goats, chickens, and honeybees. I wanted to see the solar panels, solar oven and solar shower. I wanted it all explained to me.

But as I said, that wasn’t a possibility… but the video I bought was enough to make me “get over it”. I’ve watched it several times. This isn’t exactly the same one I bought, but I think you’ll get the picture.

Part of this blog includes “Self-sufficiency”, but so far I’ve only posted my video on “How- to-unplug-your-kitchen-sink”. A little slow off the block, but I will be posting more…soooo, I’m really happy to be able to share the following with you.

In all honesty, if there were an earthquake or some event (even an economic downturn… hello), this family would be fine except for their need for water. I can’t say the same for anyone-else I know… I think it should at least cross our minds that that’s scary.

This entry was posted in Into the Garden, Reconnect with Your Food, Self-sufficiency (You Can Do It!), Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

