1/2 Hour per day… can we commit to this?

Forget the marathons and hellish work-outs. OK, if that works for you and you’re not breaking down your joints, etc… fine.

But I found this interesting: an awful lot of research has come out on how effective even a small amount of exercise can be, especially walking. Even people who are obese, but who exercise regularly for 1/2 an hour a day drastically reduce their incidence of many diseases, joint problems,etc…. Being alive is one thing(!), but quality of life should matter big time too!

Bottom line, how many excuses can we come up with for not being able to fit in 1/2 hour of something as simple as walking (briskly) every day?

I admit that I’m guilty of finding excuses…like today… it was so cold and foggy outside, my basement (where my treadmill is located) is temporarily full of boxes piled high, AND we went to visit my brand new great niece at the hospital. In truth? I had plenty of time to work out for 1/2 an hour. If I couldn’t get to the treadmill ( I could), then I know I could’ve come up with other appropriate things to do… even doing jumping jacks, some push ups, sit-ups, and squats.

So if you’re feeling like it’s not worth it unless you do at least an hour long work out, make a trip to the gym or to class… whatever….check this out.. VERY (!) entertaining and educational, and only 9 minutes long…. (the illustrator has got to win at Pictionary every single time, hands down!).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUaInS6HIGo

This entry was posted in Exercise, Foundations of Health, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

