WOW! If You Love Pumpkin Like I Love Pumpkin…

Boy… my eyeballs nearly popped right out of my head when I read this! This recipe from the aryuvedic web-site, “The Joyful Belly”, is supposed to be eaten in the Fall and is used to combat cold and nervousness.

I don’t even care if it’s not Fall anymore…. my hands and feet are freezing and oh yeah, I think I’m feeling a little nervous.

Ayurveda stresses a balance of three elemental energies or humors: Vāyu vāta (air & space – “wind”), pitta (fire & water – “bile”) and kapha (water & earth – “phlegm”). According to ayurvedic medical theory, these three substances — doṣas (literally that which deteriorates )—are important for health, because when they exist in equal quantities, the body will be healthy, and when they are not in equal amounts, the body will be unhealthy in various ways…. Ayurvedic theory asserts that building a healthy metabolic system, attaining good digestion, and proper excretion leads to vitality. Ayurveda also focuses on exercise, yoga, and meditation.  (wikipedia)

Apparently certain foods and different seasons all have different affects on the body… it’s not unlike Chinese medicine in that they talk about “cold” and “heat” as the imbalances we might have at any given time.

According to the explanation for the following recipe, cloves move heat to the surface of the body, heating up cold extremities, while pumpkin and nutmeg soothe the nervous system. (So THOSE are the 2 reasons I leapt off my chair to make this….yeah right)!

I’m sitting here eating/drinking (?) this right now. Waiting to see if my hands and feet warm up and I calm down. It IS thick…. more like a thick soup… but I didn’t have any lunch and so this is going to be it. I have to say it’s pretty good, but I might like it better with a little vanilla ice cream.

If you decide to make this and you don’t know what “ghee” is, basically it’s clarified butter… butter that has had all of the milk solids removed by slowly heating butter (from grass fed cows of course) and removing the milk solids (google it… it’s easy to do).

OK… it’s been a few minutes and I just let out a big sigh, so I must be calm now. Feet and hands are warming up, and I’m not hungry anymore.

Here’s the recipe, but really, this should be called liquid pumpkin pie instead of pumpkin chai…. (but pie and chai rhyme, so maybe it was just a typo…).

http://www.joyfulbelly.com/Ayurveda/recipe/Spicy-Pumpkin-Chai/849

follow up comment... I don’t know, this was a little sweet for me. I’m thinking the thing to do is find a great pumpkin soup recipe instead….but still, the aryuvedic thoughts are intriguing enough that I’m keeping an open mind.

This entry was posted in What to Eat and How to Cook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

