Have Another Green Smoothie!

My last post was on spring cleaning your liver with green smoothies and also roasted beets. (sorry again about the small charts, but between the pictures and my written explanation, you should get the picture).

I made a really bright green smoothie yesterday morning for my husband and son…. I threw the proverbial kitchen sink in there…. but I still followed the formula (doubling up sometimes), and it turned out great. Very tasty, as well as healthy!

Here are a couple more recipes for smoothies that I think you’ll like… they’re from Andrea Livingston at Phytofoods.blogspot.com and I think you’ll see that they make use of the combinations in my last post (pick your base, your greens,  your fruit, your boost (s), and sweetener if necessary. Also, if you have a healthy source…. a raw egg from healthy pastured chickens is a nutritious addition).

Green Smoothie


GREENS GREENS GREENS

Can we talk about green smoothies?
If you don’t know already, green smoothies are a fantastic way to get a good serving of fruits and most importantly greens into your diet and your child’s diet. Greens are high in calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, sodium, vitamin C, vitamin A, and vitamin K. If you would like to know more about green smoothies please read Victoria Boutenko’s book Green for Life. She also wrote an important article talking about the benefits of green smoothies that can be found on her website at:
Here are a few of my favorite facts from her article:
1. Green smoothies are very nutritious and easy to digest. When blended well, all the valuable nutrients in these fruits and veggies become homogenized, or divided into such small particles that it becomes easy for the body to assimilate these nutrients, the green smoothie literally starts to get absorbed in your mouth.
2. Green smoothies are a complete food because they still have the fiber.
3. By consuming two to three cups of green smoothie daily you will consume enough greens for the day to nourish your body, and they will be well assimilated. Many people do not consume enough green leafy vegetables.
4. Green smoothies are easy to make, and quick to clean up after.
5. Green smoothies are perfect food for children of all ages including babies of six or more months and great for introducing after mother’s milk.
This article pretty much says it all. If you are worried about your child meeting their nutrient needs, especially during times of sickness or food protest, please try the green smoothie. There are numerous recipes for a good smoothie. Here is my favorite:
2 mangoes
1 cup parsley
3-4 kale leaves
1-2 cups water or coconut juice
1 frozen banana
3-5 ice cubes
1/2 lime juiced
pinch of sea salt
Place chopped mango, kale and parsley in a blender. Add coconut juice or water along with ice cubes, lime and banana. Blend until the mixture is smooth. A normal blender will require longer blending times. Also, make sure the thicker stem/rib parts of the kale are removed before blending if you do not own a Vitamix or Blendtec blender (recommended if you are going to do this everyday).

Afternoon Delight

It has been soooo hot here in Portland (mid to high 90’s). In between camps, swimming pool runs, hikes, bike rides, gardening and work I often find myself needing a little afternoon pick me up. I went to my refrigerator today and found a huge containter of blueberries waiting for me (a common sight in our home during Portland berry season). I threw together this smoothie and it definitely did the trick! Blueberries and cacao are of course high in antioxidants and the coconut water is a great electrolyte replacer. In this particular smoothie I added coconut butter for a creamy consistency. You could also use almond butter or a banana and it would taste great! Enjoy!Afternoon Delight Smoothie
2 cups coconut juice
1 cup blueberries
1-2 tablespoons raw cacao powder (or organic cocoa powder)
1 cup ice
1/2 vanilla bean or a dash of vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons raw honey
1 tablespoon coconut butter or almond butter
pinch of cinnamon
pinch of cayenne
pinch of sea salt

Blend until smooth

This entry was posted in What to Eat and How to Cook. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have Another Green Smoothie!

  1. johnrmcphee says:

    Your son(s) and husband are extraordinarily fortunate to have u whipping up these delicious and healthy drinks day in day out! The green one in particular looks like it will be so flavorful. THANK YOU for your ongoing focus making us all healthier and happier every day!

  2. Dear John,
    Thanks for your comment… HOWEVER, this is how I feel about it: “Give a man a fish and you have fed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you have fed him for a lifetime.” My husband would prefer that I set out any supplements he needs every day and place his food in front of him. I, on the other hand, would like to show him once and then have him take over for himself…. better yet, for me too!
    What happened to my response to you re being smug about running in so many marathons?? I thought I also asked you if you subscribed to Primal Blueprint… Mark’s Daily Apple…?
    Oh well… I love that you read my blog and will be sure to answer all future comments!!

Leave a Reply

